Professional Experience Proposals

Truth be told, I completely forgot about this. Not that I’m too worried – accumulated, I should have completely smashed the 4-week aim by the time May comes round. After an inspired lecture at the start of term, I realised I had little in the way of a showreel, which is bad for me since I’m aiming to be a camera operator when I leave. This year has now got me entirely focused on making a showreel that I’m proud of – and this module seems to be the perfect way to develop it. Let’s take a peek at what I’ve got in store at present:

Already In The Bag

Source Radio

Every Saturday, from 8:00pm until 10:00pm is my radio show. There have been several technical issues throughout term one which have made broadcasting a bit of a problem on some nights. Complete with all these problems, however, I have grown to know the studio inside-out. I can now utilise all the faders to a high quality standard, and I’ve operated computers, CD players an iPods to get my music onto the airwaves. The Myriad computer is hardly ever used, meaning I have to develop the whole show (running order included) myself, although half way through the term I found a co-presenter, who makes the show run a lot smoother and helps with discussions and musical input. Hopefully the show will become more interactive in the upcoming weeks, but so far, this is looking set to be at least 5 days of the total professional experience.

Total weeks covered – 1 week

Source TV

This one is not so simple. The projects I undertake are largely improvised. They happen with a little warning, but usually no thorough planning is undertook before I embark on Source TV’s adventures. So far, I’ve filmed the All-Students Meeting, the Demo-Lition protest march in London, and a marketing video for Platinum with a TV celebrity. Fundraising events are set for the near future, I’m sure along with many other projects I can get involved in. I’m unsure how much work will be totalled up by the end of this year, so I’ll par it with Source Radio at 5 days, considering that there are fewer projects here, but they last longer.

Total weeks covered – 2 weeks

Solo Projects – Demo-Lition

Coupled with 260MC and Source TV, this project saw a guaranteed one day of work, from planning right through to distribution. The relevant blog post will have all the information about this project, but to say it was based around 1 day, I’ll keep it at that.

Total weeks covered – 2 weeks, 1 day

The Hereward Documentary

Seemingly lacking in any ability whatsoever to get an ‘xmas temp’ job, I compensated by tagging on into this project as a camera operator. This documentary is based around a group of students from Hereward College, who suffer from Asperges Syndrome. My professional role includes only on-site input, so perhaps the relevant hours and days in relation to this module are reduced somewhat – perhaps about 3 days? This project is set to be finished in March.

Total weeks covered – 2 weeks, four days

Once Upon A Time (The ‘Prague Trip’ to the uninitiated)

This is a project I’m particularly looking forward to. My tutor from last year, Clifton Stewart, has done what he does best and has written a script up for a film set in Prague. Once again stepping forward as camera operator, my job is to learn to use the ProHD JVC cameras and all their accessories in time for the trip, which will take place for one week in February. I have also been involved in various fundrasing activities for the trip. Like the protest march, I’ll clip this down to the five days of the trip, exluding pre-production, which tallies to a neat 5 days.

Total weeks covered – 3 weeks, four days

Still To Come

Call The Shots

There is an illusive society hidden deep somewhere in Coventry called ‘Call The Shots’, which have put all sorts of adverts around Coventry University. What this group entails I do not know, and until I know more, this concept remains a back-bencher. This is to be investigated in the coming weeks.

The CVTV Project


I hope you’re not all bored with Johnny Rickard just yet. His assistance in the march was only a side-project for him – this is where his main focus is. The showreel he originally asked Source TV for help with, but ultimately turned to my Media Production year for our assistance, has been dubeed ‘The CVTV Project’. We will set up a makeshift TV studio in one of the rooms in Ellen Terry, and with a live audience over the course of 1 day, film Rickard interviewing his lined-up celebrities, including Bex Shiner and Paul Gambaccini. It’s either gonna go very well, or very wrong.

Total weeks covered – 4 weeks

Solo Projects

I still have one or two ideas jingling around up there (don’t we all), but in view that these projects would need to be made alongside all this stuff already, I’m unsure how they’ll pan out. I’ll make no promises, so these will remain back-benchers as well (or integrated into other modules – stay tuned).

Atlantic Whale Foundation (AWF) Volunteering – A.K.A ‘Tenerife’

Here is the one you’ve all been waiting for! As I’m sure most by now know, I am one of several students from the university who are going out to Tenerife in April to help the charity ‘AWF’ with their marketing. To entice us, we have been informed of many options open to us, including underwater cameras to film sea wildlife, trips on boats to various parts of the island, and support in any solo projects we may wish to take on whilst we’re out there. Truth be told, no one truly knows for sure what awaits us out there, but regardless, this is without a doubt the 4 week placement that was always designed to keep this module happy.

Total weeks covered – 8 weeks

One Response to “Professional Experience Proposals”

  1. If some one desires expert view regarding running a blog after that i advise him/her to pay a visit this webpage, Keep up
    the nice work.

Leave a Reply

