‘What Matters To Me’ Feedback

So, here’s a quick post about the feedback I was given on my artefact and my presentation – a rather hasty business all around considering my bus that would take me to Paramore was leaving within the next quarter of an hour. After showing my video, praise came first. One student said that it was ‘inspiring’, which was quite touching. Another student said that they liked the variety of shots involved. I explained (as you can see in the post previous to this) all the technical points that I had experimented on and built upon to create this artefact.

Comments were made upon the use of the reporters mic in two of the interviews, and the lack of reporters mic in the other two. The two with the mic were moving camera shots, whereas those without the mic were static. This made the static ones look more formal / important than the others, which is something I hadn’t pick up on. Looking back, I can see what they mean – something to remember for future projects. Another issue raised was that of naming those who I interviewed. I answered that names will be featured in the final artefact. Here, however, the views represent those of a majority of students; not individual opinions, but rather a collective voice. The idea was a bit uneasy, but we moved swiftly on.

Then came the inevitable criticism. The lecturer seemed to make a very good point – towards the end of my piece, a question is asked about how the universities could fund themselves rather than getting money off students. This seemed to annoy the lecturer greatly, as he mentioned that the main point of my own artefact was not about the university having no money because of the cuts, but rather the simple question of whether education should be free or not. Thus, all the footage of people talking about sponsors didn’t seem to suit any purpose in relation to my artefact. I had to agree – I could see his point. Then he went and challenged the students in the room to try and answer specifically how the university could raise money if the ideas in my artefact were to be put forward. He was met with a wall of silence, achieving an outright win. In the midst of the awkward silence, I slowly backed out the door, thanking everyone politely, before legging it to the bus station.

This means that the interview I did with one student is completely none usable now, but ‘such is life’. I understand what the lecturer meant, and so I will avoid those interviews when I complete my final piece (see the ‘Protest March Reflection’). I still think it is a relevant point though, perhaps for someone else to pick up on – it’s okay students and the public protesting about tuition fees, but at the end of the day, cuts have to be made, and the universities need money. Rather than simply complaining, why not offer solutions? After all, we ARE university students. If anyone can find a way for universities to make money without draining students dry of all the pennies they have, THEN and only then is the problem is truly solved!

Leave a Reply

